Thursday, April 10, 2008

The Star: Sitting Positions of MPs Finalised

From The Star:
KUALA LUMPUR: It has taken Parliament staffers more than four weeks to come up with the seating arrangement for frontbenchers and MPs, but it's mostly done now.

It's not as easy as it looks as the MPs' seniority, position in their respective parties and other factors must be taken into consideration.


The bigger number of Opposition MPs – 82 this time compared to 19 after the last general election in 2004 – means they will occupy three and a half blocks now on the left side of the Dewan.

Previously, the Opposition – 12 from DAP, six from PAS, one from PKR and an Independent MP from Sandakan – occupied only one block of 20 seats.

Too bad The Star didn't provide graphics online but thanks to my trusty scanner, I'm able to reproduce the entire page here in my blog (click to enlarge).

In the Barisan Nasional corner:
• Abdullah Ahmad Badawi takes Block A, seat #1.
• Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah shares Block E together with Ong Ka Ting, Rafidah Aziz and Fong Chan Onn.

In the Pakatan Rakyat corner:
• Wan Azizah Wan Ismail takes Block I, seat #1.
• Khalid Ibrahim takes Block I, seat #2.
• Lim Kit Siang takes Block H, seat #1.
• Lim Guan Eng takes Block H, seat #2.
• Abdul Hadi Awang takes Block G, seat #1.

Come April 28th when the fighters take to their boxing arena, only will the true fight begin.

No comments:

Post a Comment